Posted by: patenttranslator | March 17, 2012

It’s An Age-Old Truth – Your Domain Name Makes You Who You Are

The first Internet domain name, Symbolics.com, was created on March 15, 1985.  By 1992, only 15,000 domain names existed. By 2010, there were already 200 million domains in existence.

Being a domain registrar is a pretty good business because having a good domain is pretty much a prerequisite these days for having a well functioning business. I realized this simple fact at the beginning of 2000 when I registered about a dozen domain names, some of which I kept, JapaneseTranslators.com and PatentTranslators.com among them.

There is an old Czech song from the 1930s, which goes like this:

Je to pravda odvěká
šaty dělaj člověka
kdo v hadrech na štěstí čeká
ten se načeká ….

Translated by GoogleTranslate, it goes like this:

It’s true age-old
they do dress man
in rags who is waiting for happiness
that the Nazi ….

Translated by yours truly, this is what the text means in English:

It’s an old-age truth,

the clothes make you who you are,

those who wait for happiness in rags

will be waiting a really long time …

(I have no idea how that “Nazi” ended up in that Google translation. Could somebody try to figure it out?)

Since there was no Internet in 1930s, you had to dress well to get the job that would make you rich. But in 2012, you can work in your pajamas as a freelance translator, (which is my preference from about 7 AM to about 10 AM), and still get the job that you want, although you will probably not get very rich …. if you have a domain that customers who are looking for somebody like you can find because you have the right domain and the relevant content on your website.

I was told by a number of geeks and website designers back in 2000 that all the good domain names were already taken, but that didn’t stop me from looking until I found something that matched my business pretty closely in not too many letters.

And even though there may be close to 300 million domain names now, a good domain name is still a powerful tool, and quite an inexpensive one, since it cost about 25 dollars a year.

But not too many translators seem to have realized this. Whenever I am looking on the Internet for a new patent translator, for example when a client who has been sending me for years Japanese, German and French patents for translation suddenly sends me a patent in Danish, or Finnish or another language that I don’t quite have covered yet in my growing stable of trusted patent translators who know various “languages of limited diffusion”, Google throws back at me a list of translation agencies, which is useless for my purposes. I then have to find my guy or girl at the ATA (American Translators Association) website, which is very useful for my purposes.

Many translators have “web pages”, for example on the Proz website and similar websites, and quite a few have very good independent websites and blogs too, but they are usually not very good at picking a good domain name.

If you are a really good technical or financial translator, say from German, or French or Japanese, and your domain name is http://www.john-smith.com, or http://www.john-smith-translator.com, only people who already know that your name is John Smith will find your website.

There must be still a few hundred million really good domain names out there that translators should still be able to grab before they are gone.

Of course, it was a very different situation in 1985, or 1992, or even in the year 2000 when it finally dawned on me that I should probably try to find me a good domain name too, since despite the fact that I already had a good wife, a dog and a couple of kids, I still had the nagging feeling that something important was still missing in my life ….

It turned out that all I needed to make my life complete was a good domain name.

Responses

  1. Myslím, že překlad “Nazi” vznikl jednoduše: Google Translate pochopil “načeká” jako “nácek”, a neštěstí bylo na světě.

    Like

    • Thank you very much.

      Good work.

      Let me translate it for people who don’t understand Czech.

      Google Translate thought that “načeká”, which is the third person singular form of the verb “čekat” (to wait) and which means “will be waiting” in this case, was genitive singular of the noun “nácek”, which is Czech slang for “nazi”.

      I noticed that Google Translate has a major problem with declinations of nouns and conjugations of verbs when I tried to use it to translate English to Czech.

      I thought that this would be something that should not be so difficult for machine translation programmers, but apparently Czech grammar is quite difficult to deal with in MT.

      Like

  2. […] Did That Word Come From? The Time Machine: Looking Back at 4 Years of Blogging About Translation It’s An Age-Old Truth – Your Domain Name Makes You Who You Are Translating Technical Manuals: What are they? What are they used for? Increase Translation Revenue […]

    Like

  3. This article is really a pleasant one it helps new net visitors, who are wishing in favor of blogging.

    Like

  4. I’ve been exploring for a little bit for any high quality articles or weblog posts
    in this sort of house . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled
    upon this website. Reading this info So i am glad to
    show that I’ve a very just right uncanny feeling I
    came upon exactly what I needed. I most indisputably will make sure
    to don?t forget this site and give it a glance on a constant basis.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

