Posted by: patenttranslator | March 29, 2011

If You Buy Junk Offered To You By Junk E-Mailers, You Are Interfering With the Principle Of Eternal Justice and Cosmic Karma!

Few things are as enjoyable as checking out junk at garage sales on Saturday morning. This is a noble American tradition that I discovered for the first time as an immigrant from Europe three decades ago. I still remember a gorgeous snifter I bought for a quarter (25 cents!) at a garage sale on 9th Avenue near Golden Gate Park in San Francisco 29 years ago. I broke it, but I still have 2 coffee cups from a set of 4 that I bought near Parnassus Avenue on the other side of Golden Gate Park 27 years ago. I even remember that the it was an elderly couple who sold us the coffee cups in front of their garage.

And few things are less detestable than junk e-mails peddling garbage that you don’t want arriving to your e-mail box every single day of the year. Except maybe for junk faxes, because those also waste trees in addition to your time. I understand that most translators no longer have a standalone fax line, but I still have one, mostly because old habits die hard, I suppose. There is actually a business model based on junk faxes peddling “products and services” such as trips to Mexico, mortgage refinancing and other scams to businesses and people who have a fax line. I used to receive junk faxes like that for several years, about 4 times a week. There is a number on the faxed advertisements for what must be junk at best, and probably outright scams, that you can call to get off the list if you don’t want to be contacted. However, nothing happened after I called and left a message asking for my number to be taken off the list three times. In the end, I took my fax off line for two months after the New Year and it seems to have done the trick. The faxes are no longer there. I can’t think of a better example of a dying business model than faxing junk advertisements for what must be scams, since the fax as a means of communication is dying too.

There was a review on the About Translation Blog recently of another “grammar checker” for translators called “White Smoke”. The reviewer did not like the new “tool” too much. I was not surprised. I have been receiving junk e-mails from the geniuses at the White Smoke outfit for about 2 months now, sometime twice a day, touting the advantages of this revolutionary new tool for translators. Do they think that if they keep sending junk e-mails to the same e-mail address for a year, the person receiving them will finally give in and buy the stuff? Even if I did buy it, which I will definitely not, see the title of this blog, would that stop the junk from hitting me again next day? I doubt it. Even the name of this product is stupid. “White Smoke” sounds like something somebody is trying to blow up your you know what, does it not?

I once broke my own rule and clicked on an e-mail offering a cartridge refill for my laser printer. It was from a company called Click Inks (again, what an inventive name!). The cartridge was cheaper than what other companies were offering, but it started streaking after about a hundred pages.

Here is my new promise to myself: In the interest of preserving natural order and serenity in my lovely home office and in the Universe, I will never click on e-mails from the likes of Click Inks or any other junk e-mailers in my e-mail box again, except if I gave the e-mailer my express permission to send me said junk e-mails.

As far as I know, I only gave such a permission to J&R Electronics in New York because they have cool stuff, they usually pay for shipping, and I am an addict when it comes to new cool electronic toys.

UPDATE

The fax scammers are back, hitting my fax again with their dirty con games. Here is what I found on the Internet when I Googled the CALL NOW number on the fax.

Anybody has a good idea how to get back at them? How can I make this scum stop wasting my time and trees?

Responses

  1. I also get deluged with spam from White Smoke peddling the company’s useless software. I think they bought the mailing list from a certain translation portal known for its obsession with revenue from trash sources.

    When I think of all the time I waste dealing with trash e-mail like that, I entertain some rather horrible ideas of what fun it might be to express my sincerest appreciation to the senders of these messages. Lately messages are making past all the filters I have specifically set up with the key words used in the junk mail. How that works is a mystery 😦

    Like

  2. But why do they send the same junk e-mails to the same translators every day, sometime twice a day?

    To make as many potential customers mad at them as possible?

    They must be really desperate, or really stupid, or both.

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

